Author Topic: Problems with libusb!!  (Read 6447 times)

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Problems with libusb!!
« on: November 12, 2015, 03:09:28 AM »
Hello everybody! I thank you in advance for all your help previously on your IRC channel.
I'm currently having issues with bladeRF to work with YateBTS already.
I'm running Ubuntu 15.04 on ARM (raspberry pi 2) and I have builded bladeRF with your yate.ro repo (link that I found on a forum). BladeRF itself actually works with bladeRF-cli -i command but when I try to load yate in -sd mode I get a lot of LIBUSB errors. I tried to change libusb version but still get the same error. I tried versions: 1.0.18 - 1.0.19 - 1.0.20 (actually installed) but with no results. What do you suggest me to do?
Jambo.

Here's the yate.log output:
http://pastebin.ca/3248939

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2015, 03:41:16 AM »
Nobody here that can help me? Any tip?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 03:47:00 AM »
You may try to use libusb 1.0.17 if available

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2015, 10:49:00 AM »
You may try to use libusb 1.0.17 if available

Tried with libusb 1.0.16rc-10 with no success. I guess now that libusb is not the problem. Should it be?

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 10:01:52 AM »
Update

I moved to Ubuntu MATE 15.10 (always on raspberry). Installed yate, yate-bts and bladerf with no problems.
This is my status:
https://www.filepicker.io/api/file/bqEKwGkUSuK2pXg0Aw8Q
https://www.filepicker.io/api/file/EGn0DqveRE6FMiIrIJ8S
these are my settings..
and i get this output on yate.log
https://www.filepicker.io/api/file/yMOGsyiVQtqgxSCmFr2Y

Any tips?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2015, 03:42:15 AM »
Try using your board on an non ARM computer.
If it works this would mean there might be an ARM related issue.
If it doesn't: you might have a faulty board.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2015, 07:35:00 AM »
Try using your board on an non ARM computer.
If it works this would mean there might be an ARM related issue.
If it doesn't: you might have a faulty board.


Actually i didn't try yet to test the bladerf on non ARM architecture but i see here in the bladerf site that they have tutorials for ARM... They actually give support for ARM so i think it's not an issue related to the rasp.
Any other tips?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2015, 01:50:19 AM »
Try anyway.
It may be the board, libusb, yate itself

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2015, 10:41:28 AM »
Update
I'm still under Ubuntu server 15.10.
I've installed yate and yatebts through subversion.
I've followed this guide: https://github.com/Nuand/bladeRF/wiki/Setting-up-Yate-and-YateBTS-with-the-bladeRF
This is my output: http://pastebin.com/qDUg0V3e
libusb seems installed but I've followed the guide and nothing more.
Any help please?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2015, 02:11:51 AM »
bladerf module is not loaded.
Check if compiled/installed.
Location: modules/radio/ybladerf.yate

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2016, 05:26:33 AM »
No, it's not compiled.
In radio folder i have:  dummyradio.cpp dummyradio.yate and ybladerf.cpp only.
What should I do to compile it?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2016, 05:41:23 AM »
Run configure script.
Check for a line:
Checking for libusb ...
If libusb is not found then libusb devel is not installed or installed in unknown directory.
Try running configure with --with-libusb=DIR
If libusb is found check for compile time errors.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2016, 07:35:08 AM »
Update
First, I have to thank you for all your help you're giving to my project; i really appriciate it.

I managed to compile the file that was missing. Now yate runs well but I still get the same LIBUSB_TRANSFER_ERROR yet again.
Now. I tried the card on a linux notebook and it works all well.
Leds are flashing and I can see my network on the phone. I have now an issue: I cannot register my phone. I setted regexp=^* but my phone fails to register.

Before trying to solve the last problem I need to know the answer to this question that is, for me, the most important over all.
According to these informations, could it be an ARM (raspberry) related issue?
I.e. : will I ever be able to run yatebts on raspberry or not?

In addition, I have to solve this issue also, though.

Thanks in advance.

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2016, 07:45:31 AM »
I don't know if it's an ARM related issue.
I also don't know if bladerf module will be tested on ARM.

For registering:
Try setting the regexp to .*
Please attach a log if not working.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2016, 08:31:11 AM »
Hi marian, thanks for your fast reply.
Ok, I cannot register atm even if regexp is set to .* but that's not my problem for now...
I only have a lot of timestamp jumps... is it normal?
I have followed the guide on nuand wiki to set yatebts minimal configuration.
I'm connected on usb 2.0 and I changed the radio_read_priority to highest and radio_send_priority to high in the transceiver section on ybts.conf and increased priority on limits.conf to my actual user by setting
@admin hard nice -20
@admin hard rtprio 99

Anyway I have a phone that doesn't show me my IMSI so I'm not able to register it. Can I see my phone IMSI's without registering it?