Author Topic: Problems with libusb!!  (Read 7184 times)

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2016, 09:13:13 AM »
When registering to a new network the phone should do it with IMSI.

If ybts print_msg is enabled and debug at level 9 received GSM messages should be printed in console/log.
Location update should contain IMSI identity (I mean the phone should try to register using IMSI).

Other solution:
Check the [tapping] section in ybts.conf (if missing check ybts.conf.sample in source directory).
Set
[tapping]
GSM=yes
TargetIP=your_ip_to_run_wireshark_or_other_sniffer

This will enable GSM message tap on port 4729.
All messages will be sent there.
You can use Wireshark or other network sniffer to see sent/received GSM messages.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2016, 03:21:56 PM »
I guess for now it's better not to use the wireshark solution...
I have both print_msg enabled and debug at level 9 (for mbts, ybts and transceiver modules) but no gsm messages seem to arrive neither on the console nor the log.

I can see my network from my phone but when I try to register to the network nothing happens..
I cannot see any messages from yate (connecting to localhost via telnet) about gsm connections (registration tries or something..).

Should I post something to you (configs or logs)?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2016, 01:37:39 AM »
A yate log might help.
You should make some Wireshark capture of gsm. It shows gsm layer 2 stuff also. This might help also.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2016, 06:21:35 AM »
I broke my nuand board!!  :( :( :(
As soon as I get a bladerf back I will try to do some capture with wireshark..
Anyway I knew there was a command for openbts that was like 'tmsi' or something for doing that instead of using wireshark ('cause I don't want to do illegal stuff by mistake)
I was guessing if there is an equivalent in yatebts..

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2016, 03:09:52 AM »
Ok so now that I got my nuand board back I tried yet again to get my phone connected to the network but it still doesn't work.
I tried to do the GSM tapping with wireshark but no messages seem to arrive on port 4729 neither tcp nor udp.
In addition I've got  a lot of timestamps jumps and adjustments.
A log can help maybe:
http://pastebin.com/5bNdxdiD

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2016, 03:29:06 AM »
Try using a single ARFCN (your computer might not be fast enough to handle 4 ARFCNs).

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2016, 03:37:42 AM »
If you mean
Radio.ARFCNs=1
I setted this param on ybts.conf but same result.

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2016, 03:40:24 AM »
Don't use 4 ARFCNs for now.

Is the phone seeing the network?
Try using another frequency.

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2016, 03:46:19 AM »
Yes, the phone is seeing the network but I when i try to connect nothing happens and I have 'no network' on the phone.
How do I set a different frequency?

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2016, 03:48:40 AM »
see
Radio.Band
Radio.C0

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2016, 04:22:56 AM »
Tried with all GSM bands and much C0s..
I think anyway that I'm tied to GSM900 or, atmost, 1800.
Still gettin' nothing :(

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2016, 05:58:28 AM »
Still stuck here....
I don't know what to do more than this.

marian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2016, 06:36:30 AM »
Some more hints:
- Try connecting the board using USB 3 if possible. You should get rid of timestamp jumps)
- Try using another phone (it doesn't matter if location update succeeds: all you want to see if some message arriving from phone)
- Try to put some distance between phone and board (let's say about 5m)
- Make sure the angle between TX and RX antennas is about 90 degrees

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2016, 07:27:13 AM »
Some more hints:
- Try connecting the board using USB 3 if possible. You should get rid of timestamp jumps)
- Try using another phone (it doesn't matter if location update succeeds: all you want to see if some message arriving from phone)
- Try to put some distance between phone and board (let's say about 5m)
- Make sure the angle between TX and RX antennas is about 90 degrees

Tried:
- No USB 3.0 ports at the moment, so it's not possible
- Using another phone doesn't appear to grant anything
- Distance seems not to matter in this case
- Put TX and RX antennas in the right position

Nothing happens, as usual.
I'm starting to guess if the rx module of the antenna isn't broken, 'cause it seems like the only problem.
In second place I've already tried using bladeRF-cli and receiving samples and it actually does work with this configuration.
Really weird.... :/

Jambo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with libusb!!
« Reply #29 on: February 16, 2016, 08:29:10 AM »
I don't know if this matters, but I've followed this page:
http://wiki.yatebts.com/index.php/Calibrate_the_radio_board

and I've noticed that my board (with the mbts rxgain command) cannot go above 30 dB.
I mean, if I run:
Code: [Select]
mbts rxgain 45I get:
Code: [Select]
current rxgain is 0 dB
new RX gain is 30 dB

I've also tried to follow this link:
https://github.com/Nuand/bladeRF/wiki/DC-offset-and-IQ-Imbalance-Correction
with an error when I try
Code: [Select]
cal lmsonce loaded FPGA and I get
Code: [Select]
[WARNING @ lms.c:2997] DC Calibration (module=3) failed to converge.
I've also noticed that if I try to set
Code: [Select]
set rxvga2 8it doesn't allow me to set values higher than 6 dB.

Can this help with my problem?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2016, 10:22:55 AM by Jambo »