Author Topic: RACH burst for unsupported device?  (Read 3080 times)

rainnw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
RACH burst for unsupported device?
« on: August 03, 2015, 01:21:25 PM »
Hello,

I am trying to get YateBTS working on a BladeRF with Ubuntu. Everything is built and my unlocked phone can see the BTS in its network list. However, when I select this network, it hangs for a while and fails. I get this in the logs when this happens:

Quote
2015-07-28_21:55:26.084593 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 5. Excessive TOA error=-3 peak/mean=5.20339 count=1 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.092936 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 3. Excessive TOA errors 18 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.194235 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 3. Excessive TOA error=4 peak/mean=5.91555 count=1 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.244821 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 2. Excessive TOA error=4 peak/mean=3.41899 count=20 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.271317 <mbts:NOTE> RadioResource.cpp:243:AccessGrantResponder: RACH burst for unsupported service RA=186
2015-07-28_21:55:26.271360 <gsmtrx:ALL> Handling command 'CMD 0 NOHANDOVER 0' arfcn=0 [0x7f86f0009d10]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.271381 <gsmtrx:ALL> Command 'CMD 0 NOHANDOVER 0' (ARFCN=0) RSP '0'
2015-07-28_21:55:26.271486 <gsmtrx:ALL> Handling command 'CMD 0 NOHANDOVER 0' arfcn=0 [0x7f86f0009d10]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.271491 <gsmtrx:ALL> Command 'CMD 0 NOHANDOVER 0' (ARFCN=0) RSP '0'
2015-07-28_21:55:26.284302 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 7. Excessive TOA errors 31 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.307710 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 7. Excessive TOA error=5 peak/mean=3.94474 count=1 [0x7f86f0016440]
2015-07-28_21:55:26.445563 <gsmtrx:ALL> ARFCN[0]: Slot 6. Excessive TOA error=-5 peak/mean=7.12925 count=24 [0x7f86f0016440]

I am not sure what these other errors are, but any idea what "2015-07-28_21:55:26.271317 <mbts:NOTE> RadioResource.cpp:243:AccessGrantResponder: RACH burst for unsupported service RA=186" means?


Ioana Stanciu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: RACH burst for unsupported device?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 01:27:57 AM »
The latest version of YateBTS has some issues with the transceiver that affects the functionality.
Please use a YateBTS prior to SVN revision 504.
First make uninstall to the current YateBTS, and then install the older version. Keep in mind that the older version has a dependency on libbladerf-dev, so you need to have it installed.
Please make sure you don't have the new transceiver (gsmtrx) and the old transceiver running at the same time (transceiver-bladerf).  They use the same port and this will affect functionality as well. The need to uninstall the new YateBTS is just avoid this issue.


rainnw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: RACH burst for unsupported device?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 02:44:49 PM »
Thank you. I downgraded and now devices are registering.

zebi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: RACH burst for unsupported device?
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2018, 07:04:18 AM »
Its an old post but i happen to be facing a similar problem.. i have yate 6.0.1 and yatebts 6.0.1

MBTS ready
2018-06-21_15:52:03.189354 <ybts:NOTE> State changed Running -> RadioUp
2018-06-21_15:52:50.972013 <mbts:MILD> FEC.cpp:827:getTFITBF:   15:52:50.9,2427:GPRS Radio Block Data Block with unrecognized tfi: 4 dir:RLCDir::Up
2018-06-21_15:52:50.972077 <mbts:MILD> MAC.cpp:1614:processRLCUplinkDataBlock:   15:52:50.9,2427:Uplink Data Block with TFI=4 bsn=2424 unassociated with TBF
2018-06-21_15:53:14.911342 <mbts:MILD> miniggsn.cpp:381:miniggsn_handle_read: ggsn: error: cannot find PDP context for incoming packet for IP dstaddr=105.126.228.146
Remote connection from 127.0.0.1:57266 to 127.0.0.1:5038
2018-06-21_15:55:37.094329 <mbts:NOTE> RadioResource.cpp:243:AccessGrantResponder: RACH burst for unsupported service RA=191


according to the above solution downgrading yatebts worked but then,
how do i go about with uninstalling yatebts ...         
when i try to install yatebts 5  with yatebts 6.0.1 still installed ... it doesnt complete with and error of Transciever UHD